New York City By iPhone

A couple of months ago I spent an amazing long weekend in New York.  My mom, sister, and I headed to the Big Apple to enjoy a weekend of shopping, eating, and wine drinking.  We really managed to accomplish all we set out to do!  Here are a few of my favourite hightlights from the trip.

Firstly, Balthazar restaurant!  This is a classic must-do French brasserie in New York’s Soho neighbourhood.  It’s not easy to get in here, so if you are planning an upcoming trip you should book ahead.  We were able to book a perfect corner booth with a great view of the whole restaurant.  For an appetizer I had the famous goat cheese and caramelized onion tart, and for my main I chose the outstanding seafood Bouillabaisse.  Both were perfectly delicious.

IMG_1874

IMG_1872

IMG_1873

We stopped in Little Italy one afternoon for a sunny late lunch and  a pitcher of sangria.  After we felt replenished, we checked our map and wandered into the vibrant and colourful Chinatown.

IMG_1863

IMG_1864

IMG_1868

There is really so much to see and do in New York that it can be a bit overwhelming.  I personally really wanted to see Mario Batali’s Eataly Emporium (the largest Italian food and wine marketplace in the world!).  While walking around trying to find Eataly, we stumbled upon a street food market which was so much fun!  I think that’s what makes New York so special, you can be endlessly entertained just by walking the streets.

IMG_1890

IMG_1891

IMG_1896

Our final evening was spent at the AMAZING Locanda Verde restaurant in Tribeca.  If you’re heading to NYC anytime soon, I highly recommend making a reservation at this outstanding Italian restaurant.

IMG_1938

I hope you enjoyed the tips and photos!

Leave a Reply

